Laughter is the best medicine

Sorry for another delay since my last post. Been pretty busy honestly. I’ve been planning this post in my head since yesterday. Hopefully it doesn’t disappoint.

Yesterday I had the opportunity to interview someone really awesome. She shared my view on laughter being the best medicine, and was a super hilarious woman to talk to. What else makes her really awesome? She has cancer.

I am not saying cancer is awesome. I am saying that the fact she is able to stay so positive while having cancer is awesome.

To give you a little bit of background on my history with cancer: I have had two family members survive cancer. I had a teenage neighbor, however, who was not so lucky. I had the opportunity to write her story before she passed away, and to this day it is probably still one of the best stories I have written. Her passing shook me for awhile, not because we were super close, but because I was around her and her family through some of the process. Since moving to my current job, I wrote my second story on a cancer survivor, which was another amazing story I was able to tell. Frankly, my opportunities to write others’ personal stories is something I take for granted way more than I should. But these two stories are experiences I’m very glad I was able to have and share with others.

This will be my third story on a cancer patient. She is currently battling lymphoma, and I pray for her survival. Surviving, however, isn’t her main concern. Which is partially why I am so floored by this woman.

Despite the negative connotation behind cancer, while interviewing her, she really stressed that her outlook is that it’s just a disease. It’s something she has no control over; only her doctors and God can work it out. She has four children, and though she was bedridden with sadness for a week over her diagnosis, she snapped herself out of it and decided her children would not see her become a quitter. She decided to be a fighter, a role model for her children. Most importantly, she decided to start living for herself.

One of the main points she stressed to me was that life is a journey and you only get one chance. She said cancer was clearly a part of her journey, and it’s not her job to figure out why; it’s her job to make the best of it.

She said cancer isn’t funny, but laughter is the best medicine.

She said that she hopes she survives, but her main goal in life is to bring people to Christ. And the comment that floored me the most is that she said even if she dies, if she can bring even one person to know Christ, she will be happy and will have served her purpose. She said if she can influence anyone with her story, then that’s really all that matters.

Wow.

Who the hell am I to sit around moping about my “problems”?

This conversation really put things into perspective to me. I am one lucky ass woman. I have a job, I am pretty financially stable on my own, I have so many friends and family members that love and care for me, I have all the necessities I need to survive and I am healthy (to my knowledge).

She said that having cancer has really caused her to not sweat the small stuff, to cherish what she’s been given and to just enjoy it. I can honestly say this made me feel guilty. I spend so much time worrying about my career, finding a job closer to my family and friends, my relationship and other things that I really don’t need to worry about. If I just let it all go, let go and let God, and appreciate what I have right here and now, then I am pretty well off.

Now, on that note, I’m going to go self-indulge, because I am a 23 year old woman who has been given another night to live, and I am going to enjoy it.

2 thoughts on “Laughter is the best medicine

Leave a Reply

