Memories

As the weather warms up (FINALLY, good GRIEF), I feel that a weight has been lifted off my shoulders. I can’t even really explain it. It’s as if the warm weather automatically lifts my spirits and gets me out of the moody funk I tend to get lost in every winter time.

Last night I was going through some photos, taking them off my phone and putting them on my computer. Don’t even get me started on the massive amount of photos I have taken/kept and still have yet to organize…man. My to-do list keeps growing exponentially…time to stop procrastinating.

Anyway, like I said, I was going through some photos. I realized this has become a frequent pastime of mine, looking back through photos and reliving memories. It honestly feels like it was yesterday when a lot of those pictures were taken. Immediately I’m drawn back to that time and place, remembering all of the people I was with, all of the things that were going on in my life at that point in time. It’s really crazy how much time has passed since those events.

It got me thinking about how much I rely on photos to remember things sometimes. I have a pretty good memory, don’t get me wrong. Often times my boyfriend will tell me he feels like I remember everything (especially when I point out the silly things he’s done in the past that he feels like I shouldn’t remember…sorry babe). It’s true; probably because I’ve heavily documented nearly every aspect of my life from the time I was a pre-teen until now, through both photos and journal entries.

Plenty of times I go back through pictures and old memorabilia and I think, “Oh my gosh, I forgot this even happened!” And then I think, “Would I have ever remembered this had I not had this item (note, paper, photo, t-shirt, etc.) to remind me of it?”

What would happen to my memories if I lived in a time where photographs were hardly ever taken? Would I even remember any event of my life? Honestly, my grandparents have an AWESOME memory compared to mine. They remember decades, and grew up in a time where photographs were only taken on very special occasions. They didn’t document random nights with their friends with photos; they simply lived those nights, and reminisced on them later. I can’t even imagine.

Another thing I’m reminded of when I look through my old photos and memorabilia; what do people think of when they think of me? When I look back through my photos and I see someone, I immediately remember specific things about that person; conversations we’ve had, things they did, etc. I know I can’t be alone in doing that, and I’m sure that all of the people that have photos of me or notes/letters from me remember specific things about me when they remember me. And, naturally, being a curious person, I’m curious to know what people remember about me. Good things, I would hope… 😛

So, with those two thoughts, I am led to this project of mine. Leave a comment on my blog, or on my facebook or twitter post announcing my blog entry, and I will tell you what it is that I think of when I remember you. (Trust me, there are a TON of people I have memories of 😉 ) In turn, I would like for you to do the same for me. In reminiscing on my memories, I realize that many of the people in the photos I have lost touch with, or have become distanced from. Though people come in and out of your life, and not everyone is meant to be in your life forever, I will never forget the people that impacted me through the years, regardless of how close we remain. Everyone has played an important role in me developing into the person I am today. So, if you are interested in knowing your role, now is your chance to let me know! 🙂

Now, time for me to go enjoy that weather! This seemingly-endless winter is ALMOST OVER, and I will take advantage of that as much as possible!

2 thoughts on “Memories

Leave a Reply

