Count your blessings.

Hellooo, blogging world. I apologize, I haven’t been here in awhile. It’s been pretty hectic in my life lately! Buuut I’ll save that discussion for a later post…

Anyway. Yesterday I had the pleasure of interviewing an amazing man with an amazing story. Why is he amazing? Because he is one of the most optimistic people I have ever had the chance to speak with, and he has been blind since birth.

While most people (I’m speculating here) would say, “Oh, life is so unfair,” or, “Oh, woe is me,” and choose to live a negative lifestyle, this man does not. He chose at a very young age to accept his diagnosis, to accept the life he was dealt and to still maintain a connection with God.

How. Amazing.

Through my hour-long interview with him, I kept thinking, Man, I can’t believe how positive he is. I can’t even begin to fathom what that would be like, or what I would do if that happened to me.

And then I realized how awful that was for me to even think that.

In his words, God has placed us on here for a purpose. He has given us the chance at life. And to him, he doesn’t feel like he’s missed out on anything. He said that if he were to die without ever knowing what it would be like to have sight, he wouldn’t feel like he missed out on anything in his life because he’s had the chance to do some amazing things.

WOW.

Such heartfelt words from someone who could choose to be angry every day, who could choose to think that his God has turned his back on him. But no, he doesn’t. He is totally comfortable with himself, and his arms are completely open to God.

I was reminded (not entirely connected to the above story) of a quote my mom has taped to one of the cabinet doors in her kitchen: “What would you do if you woke up tomorrow with only the things you thanked God for today?”

If I were to wake up tomorrow, as of right now, I would honestly have nothing. I have not thanked God once today. How selfish is that??

After visiting with this man, hearing his life story and hearing how thankful he is just to be alive, I have realized I majorly need to start being more optimistic myself. I need to start being more thankful for all the things God has blessed me with in my life. I may not have the perfect life…but then again, does anyone really? Everyone has their share of problems to work through. But being able to look past those problems and still count the infinite number of ways in which we have been blessed is a strength that everyone should eventually find in themselves. It does not do to dwell on all the negative things in your life and lose sight of everything that is so, so good.

Just some food for thought. I know I’m definitely going to start being more thankful.

Leave a Reply

