So long, Facebook

You know it’s sad when you have to write a blog post commemorating the day you’re deleting your Facebook for good (well…that’s the ultimate goal, anyway..we’ll see).

I don’t know what’s more impressive; the fact that I was the first of 5 people at my high school to sign up for Facebook, or the fact that it’s taken me 12 years to delete it.

Sure, off and on we’ve all had moments where Facebook or any other social media account has irritated us to no end. But it’s almost pathetic how much of a choke-hold it has over people that use it, whether or not they realize it.

If I were to count the number of hours I’ve spent staring at the computer/phone screen, scrolling through an endless number of meaningless posts, it would probably appall me. Would it add up to weeks? Months, even? Probably.

Sure, I’ve come to this realization partially every once in awhile, and I’ve deleted my account a couple of times for Lent or for some other challenge. But, like an addict, I eventually come crawling back and get in the habit of wasting away my days constantly checking for notifications.

Seriously.  How freaking sad?!

Not to mention, over the years I have found less and less enjoyment with Facebook. Don’t get me wrong – it is AWESOME seeing photos and posts on some of the milestones my friends and acquaintances have reached, such as graduations, engagements, marriages, new homes, children, etc.; but the more and more that I see of these posts, the more I find myself comparing my life to theirs, and wondering how I measure up to those around me.

Yes. I know this is stupid and unhealthy.

But I know I’m not alone. I can’t even begin to count the number of times I have heard people complain of the kinds of things that come up in their newsfeed and how sick people are of seeing/reading certain things, feeling inadequate to those that seem to have the picture-perfect life on their social media pages. Not to MENTION the sheer amount of daily political arguments that continue to threaten everyone’s sanity…

Frankly, it’s just all finally getting old.

I’m realizing that I have spent way too much screen time and way too little face-to-face time with my friends, family, etc. Sadly I have learned this lesson a little too late, and I can’t really take any of it back. What I can do, however, is start to make a change for the better.

So, for all of the above reasons and more, I am finally quitting Facebook.

It really feels so freeing to say.

Yes, I will be keeping my Instagram – because I do love photos. I have phone numbers for the people that I want to keep in contact with, and I am hoping that this helps me to actually communicate better rather than relying on Facebook to keep in touch with the people I care about.

For those of you that think I’m crazy – well, we’ll see how happy I am  when I’m not feeling bound by the chains of social media and the expectations of keeping up appearances online. I am hoping to truly focus on the people that matter in this life, and not have to worry about pleasing anyone but myself.

Leave a Reply

